The TOP Trophy awards for the night went to Champagne P & C Heidsieck for Winemaker of the Year and Sazerac for Distiller of the Year. Surprizes of the night was the German See-Gin Bodensee winning the London Dry Gin Trophy while the Bourbon Cask aged Big Gin from the USA won the Contemporary Gin Trophy. A special one-off award was made to Dave Hughes (yes me !) in the form of “A Lifetime Achievement Award” for his long career across various corners of the drinks industry.

The Chivas Brothers Trophy for Outstanding Achievement in Scotch Whisky was given to Gavin Hewitt CMG former CEO of the Scotch Whisky Association. Selfidges head of wine and spirits, Dawn Davies won the Julian Brind Memorial Trophy for outstanding Achievement in the Wine Industry. My trophy for the South African wine producer of the year went to Jordan Family Wines. The African Distiller of the year went to Distell. Best Vintage Champagne went to Charles Heidsieck Rose 1999 and the Non Vintage went to Charles Heidsieck Brut Reserve NV. The best Sauvignon blanc went to Suider Terras 2013 of Bloemendal Estate South Africa. Best Chardonnay to Directors Cut 2012 from Francis Ford Coppola. The best single vineyard Riesling received the Jancis Robinson Trophy and that went to Two Sisters Vineyard 2009 of Puren Farms in New Zealand. The best Semillon went to Australia to McGuigan Bin9000 of 2006. The Best Chenin Blanc went to Oldenburg Vineyards 2013, South Africa. Best Blended red to Jordan Cobblers Hill 2010 also South Africa. The best Brandy was awarded to KWV 12 Year Old. Best Shiraz went to Chile and Pinot Noir to New Zealand. Malbec to Argentine and Pinotage to South Africaand Zinfandel to the USA. Best Cabernet Sauvignon was awarded to Gatt Barossa Valley 2009.